| | S | M | T | W | T | F | S | | 27 | 28 | 29 | 30 | 31 |
1
|
2
| |
3
|
4
|
5
|
6
|
7
|
8
|
9
| |
10
|
11
|
12
|
13
|
14
|
15
|
16
| |
17
|
18
|
19
|
20
|
21
|
22
|
23
| |
24
|
25
|
26
|
27
|
28
|
29
|
30
| » Stats |
Members: 50,187
Threads: 82,434
Posts: 853,804
Top Poster: glsammy (15,069) | | Welcome to our newest member, Della | |  | 
09-11-2011, 11:57 AM
|  | Commander of the Wild Empire | | Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1,546
| | | Invatation from Getty through Flikr I received this mail from Flikr HQ last night....
Hi Fudgey2010,
Flickr has partnered with the fabulous Getty Images to offer an invitation-only service for Flickr members to license their photos for commercial use.
The Getty Images team has noticed your work on Flickr, and is pleased to offer you an invitation to enroll with them. They have selected 5 of your photos for possible inclusion in the program. Here are a few of them:
If you're interested, find out how to get started at the Flickr page below: Flickr: Getty
Congratulations! And, good luck!
Regards,
The Flickreenos
I thought Getty only dealt with RAW images that were big files. I shoot in JPEG Fine and wa wondering if they have changed there ways. A pro photographer thinks the invite is legitimate. Can any one add to this please? Thanks Alan
__________________ www.alanswildlife.wordpress.com | 
09-11-2011, 12:01 PM
|  | Knight Commander of the Wild Empire | | Join Date: Mar 2007 Location: Romford, Essex
Posts: 5,356
| | | Re: Invatation from Getty through Flikr I rmember reading something about Getty images ripping off flickr users, something to do with paying lower rates and treating images like those from a microstock site and paying accordingly (pennies) and rights grabbing issues - if you register you cant sell your pics elsewhere. Worth looking around online.
Last edited by Ukwildlifeo; 09-11-2011 at 12:05 PM.
| 
15-11-2011, 12:10 PM
| | New Member | | Join Date: Feb 2011 Location: Bedfordshire
Posts: 17
| | | Re: Invatation from Getty through Flikr I've had a couple too. I'm sure they're genuine requests. Whether you want to go ahead with it is another question.
The first time I had a definite request from someone to licence a specific image through flickr/getty. So I signed up with getty, and added the photo, but the sale never came through. I don't think it was a hoax or anything though, as it did take me a week or so to get around to it, and the buyer probably went with something else more quickly. But hey-ho.
Then a couple of weeks ago, I had a flickr mail more like you have there, just telling me that getty were interesting in adding a photo of mine to their collection. On this occasion, I chose not to go ahead with it, because it was a photo I particularly like, and wouldn't want it licensed out for a few pence, as getty tend to do.
So to answer your original question, I'm sure it's legitimate. And they do accept JPEG's. Once you've registered, you upload the high-res jpeg to them. But I would think hard about which images you're happy to give them first.
Hope this is of some help.
George | 
16-11-2011, 07:14 AM
|  | Commander of the Wild Empire | | Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1,546
| | | Re: Invatation from Getty through Flikr Thanks lads, yeah George I also believe its legit after speaking to a professional contact who is a friend. He supplies them with loads and said they take a big chunk of the money, but the money you get is money you wouldnt have had. Hes aid go for it so I have. Thanks again
__________________ www.alanswildlife.wordpress.com | 
16-11-2011, 09:11 AM
|  | Wild Member | | Join Date: Jan 2007 Location: South West
Posts: 131
| | | Re: Invatation from Getty through Flikr Stay clear, I,m always getting those messages.
__________________ We have our wildlife in Trust
for those coming after us | 
16-11-2011, 09:12 AM
|  | Commander of the Wild Empire | | Join Date: Nov 2010 Location: Hayes, Middlesex
Posts: 3,728
| | | Re: Invatation from Getty through Flikr Quote:
Originally Posted by FUDGEY Thanks lads, yeah George I also believe its legit after speaking to a professional contact who is a friend. He supplies them with loads and said they take a big chunk of the money, but the money you get is money you wouldnt have had. Hes aid go for it so I have. Thanks again | I hope you get the credit and the cash that you deserve for your photos
Nige |  | | | Thread Tools | | | | Display Modes | Linear Mode |
Posting Rules
| You may not post new threads You may not post replies You may not post attachments You may not edit your posts HTML code is Off | | | | | | 0 members and 172 guests | | No Members online | » New Wildlife Posts | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | » New Environment Posts | | | | | | | | | » New Activity Posts | | | | | | | | | » New Community Posts | | | Spammers! 01-06-2012 01:53 PM 8 Replies, 199 Views | | | | | |